Industrial Advisory Board

Our Industrial Advisory Board comprises academics and representatives from industry. The Board provides a strategic view from the industrial community on our research, student education, innovation, and external engagement activities.

Our Board’s primary aims are to inform our curriculum design to improve the employability of our graduates and to increase external involvement in our research.

Board members review our student education with the aim of improving the student experience and ensuring that our graduates’ technical and employability skills are well matched to industry’s needs. Board members also act as ambassadors for the School and help to boost our profile and reputation with both national and international bodies.

Our Board membership reflects key sectors for our graduates’ employment. The industrial links we maintain through our Board enable us to offer industrial placement and networking opportunities.


Industry members

Mr Harry Barraza, Arla Foods

Dr Peter Channon, CMi Technical Services (retired)

Mr Philip Dalton, Sun Branding Solutions

Dr Andrew Downie, Taylors of Harrogate

Mrs Sue Dix, Tesco (retired)

Mr Brian Edwards, The Authentic Food Company

Mr Owen Evans, Marks and Spencer

Mrs Rachel Hackett, Greencore Group

Mr Simon Kane, SLK Food Consultancy

Mr Andy Keatings, Kraft Heinz

Dr Philip Kent, Blue Earth Foods

Mr Hugh Powell, Nestlé

Mr Brian D Peacock, Retired

Dr Stewart Radford, Mondelez

Mrs Alison Robertson, Hain Daniels Group

Dr David Rosie, CMi Technical Services (retired)(ex-officio)

Mrs Helen Sisson, Greencore Group

Mr David Tildsley, Newly Weds Foods Ltd

Dr Kevin Yates, Kelloggs (retired)

Laura Sayer, Cost Cutter

Paul Sheldrake, Healy Group

Helen Sisson, Greencore

Deborah Kotulla, Asda

Aaron Day, SAI Global

The Chairman is Dr David Rosie

The Secretary to the Board is Mrs Sameera Rafiq