Professor Simon Poulton wins Geological Society Bigsby Medal

We are delighted to announce that Professor Simon Poulton has been awarded the Bigsby Medal of the Geological Society.

The medal was founded by John Jeremiah Bigsby (1792 - 1881), and is awarded “as an acknowledgement of eminent services in any department of Geology”. The award will be presented on Presidents Day on 6 June 2018.

Simon has been a Professor in Biogeochemistry & Earth History in the Earth Surface Science Institute since 2012. He originally trained as a geologist, and his research focuses on geochemical and biogeochemical processes in modern sediments and waters, with a view to applying this understanding to ancient environments. His research divides into four main areas Chemical Evolution of the Earth's Biosphere, Nutrient Availability through Time, Modern Redox Sensitive Environments and Experimental Reaction Kinetics and Mechanisms.

Previously Professor Liane G Benning won the Bigsby Medal in the Geological Society Awards 2016 along with Dr Tracy Aze who won the Lyell Fund Award and Dr Anja Schmidt (now a Lecturer at Cambridge) received the William Smith Fund.

The official announcement is here: