Faculty Partnership awards 2021

The Faculty of Environment Partnership Awards is an annual event to give recognition and thanks to staff and students in the Faculty.

The awards are part of the larger Leeds Partnership Awards, organised by Leeds University Union.

At Leeds we value our academic community, and actively involve all staff and students in working together to provide an exceptional learning experience. Nominations are invited for the awards to recognise oustanding impact across several categories. 

This year the Faculty has announced its shortlisted nominees, those highly commended and winners, to students and colleagues, via a series of videos which you can watch here

A text version, including all the nominees, those highly commended and winners is also available here. Both available until 5 June.

The Equality and Inclusion Award

This person or group strives to create a fair and equal environment in which everyone can achieve their potential.

Winner: LGBTQ+ Students’ Forum (Staff) - School of Geography

The Feedback Award

The person who provides invaluable and supportive academic feedback, in both content and delivery method, which helps others to develop and excel in their work.

Winner: Daniel Morgan, School of Earth and Environment

The Global Award

The Global Award celebrates staff, students, or groups who work with a global focus. It aims to recognise excellence amongst those who have actively engaged in the promotion and maintenance of international or intercultural activities, education; or competence. It also recognises those who are involved in the internationalisation of the University of Leeds or Leeds University Union, formally or otherwise.

Winner: Student Education Support (SES) (Group Award) - School of Food Science and Nutrition

The Innovation Award

This award celebrates a person or group who uses innovative methods and approaches to engage and excite others. This may be through embracing new technology, developing new and innovative ways to enhance the student experience, or presenting challenging ideas in a way that sparks discussion and further understanding.

Winners: Sally Moore - School of Food Science and Nutrition
Joanne Brown, Amie Lister, Ian Hardy and Tabitha Howe - School of Food Science and Nutrition Teaching Technicians

The Inspirational Teaching Award

The person who has used their passion and dedication for a subject area to inspire others to be ambitious, enthusiastic and challenged to develop new ideas.

Winner: Mark Thomas - School of Earth and Environment
Highly commended: Bernadette Moore - School of Food Science and Nutrition

The Mentor Award

Whether an SES staff, academic, or a student, this person’s guidance and support has encouraged and nurtured others to develop their skills and prospects for the future, helping them to grow and progress, either personally or in their learning.

Winners: Ailish Graham - School of Earth and Environment

Stephane Hess - Institute for Transpoet Studies

The Personal Tutor Award

The personal tutor who does their utmost to support their students, promoting engagement with academic and co-curricular activities, and facilitating their personal development.

Winner: David Williams - School of Earth and Environment

The Positive Impact Award

The person who has made an exceptional difference to others’ experiences through an outstanding contribution to their School, Faculty, Department or Service or who has worked hard to make individuals’ experiences better.

Winners: Jacqui Manton - Faculty of Environment
Niamh Punton - School of Geography
Julia Lamb - School of Food Science and Nutrition

The Postgraduate Researchers who teach Award

Any registered Leeds PhD student who, while undertaking their own study, has also actively and exceptionally contributed to other students’ education as a module assistant, seminar leader or demonstrator.

Winner: Liam Taylor - School of Geography

The Student Academic Rep Of the Year Award

The School, Course, or Postgraduate Research Rep who has actively worked in partnership with others to secure positive, student-led change that makes a real difference to both students and staff.

Winners: Undergraduate Reps and Student Champions - School of Food Science and Nutrition (Key names: Julia Lamb, Rochelle Kwan)
Lydia Gardiner and Diba Sharafi (Taught postgraduate) - School of Earth and Environment

Anuszka Maton-Mosurska (PGR) - School of Earth and Environment

The Supervisor Award

The dissertation, final year project, or thesis supervisor who has guided and inspired others to push the boundaries of their research for a dissertation, final year project or thesis.

Winner: Alan Mackie - School of Food Science and Nutrition

The Wellbeing Award

The staff, student, or group who makes an exceptional contribution to wellbeing at Leeds through raising awareness, supporting individuals and/or actively referring others at Leeds.

Winner: Catherine Roberts - School of Food Science and Nutrition

The Partnership Award 

This Award is a focus of the LUU Partnership Awards and is decided by the shortlisting panel. It is given to the person or people who have been deemed to have had an exceptional impact. Often this will be someone who has been nominated broadly, or particularly active on a specific issue. We are pleased to put forward a member of staff and a student to be considered for the University's Partnership Award:

Miles Ratcliffe, Joanne Brown, Amie Lister, Ian Hardy and Tabitha Howe - School of Food Science and Nutrition Technical Team

Faculty of Environment Student Reps UG & PGT and Student Champions