Research by academics from the Institute for Transport Studies recognised as ‘outstanding’.

Two papers, written by staff from the Institute for Transport Studies, received ‘outstanding paper awards’ at the 7th International Conference on Transportation and Space-Time Economics (TSTE 2019).

Dr John Nellthorp, Daniel Johnson, Dr Like Jiang, Dr Manuel Ojeda Cabral and Dr Christopher Leahy were the recipients of one of the awards for their paper ‘Land Value and Transport: Understanding the Property Market Impact on Major Rail Investments and Other Policies using Cross-sectional and Time Series Data’.

The other winning paper was ‘Evaluating Passengers: Heterogenous Behavioural Response to Beijing Peak Avoidance Policy Using Smart Card Data’ by Dr Charisma Choudhury, Professor Yacan Wang and student Yu Wang, both of Beijing Jiaotong University and Yilin Ma of Beijing Transport Institute (BTI).

“I am very excited because: our paper is a great example how the collaboration between researchers from UoL and BJTU had made great use of an exciting dataset made available by BTI.  The paper is expected to be practically very useful for BTI” said Dr Choudhury of her winning paper. 

The conference, which was organised by Beijing Jiaotong University, took place between 11th and 13th October in Beijing.